Observations on substitute teaching art this week

Colored pencil shavings
Sharpened by Zalgon (2005) CC-BY-NC-ND 2.0 via Flickr.
https://c1.staticflickr.com/1/35/72996587_9535723b29_b.jpg

This week:

I noticed that kids (and teachers) are nearly climbing the walls with the desire to be done with the school year.

I saw a minivan with a bumper sticker that read, “I used to be cool.”

A student told me that I reminded her of Lena Dunham. O.o Unsure of whether or not this was a compliment, but then she added, “I love Lena Dunham!”

I learned that some kids really, really, really love sharpening pencils.

My face got sunburned outside during an unexpected program on the basketball court in less than 30 minutes. I’m usually so careful, but I didn’t expect to be outside, so I didn’t wear a hat or sunscreen. Drat it!

I realized I need to find some friends my own age.

I need to regain the coloring calluses on my hand (or get colored pencils with which you don’t have to apply so much pressure to get even color application.) Also, I really love coloring.

One downside (or upside?) to buying shoes in kids’ sizes that sometimes you have the same shoes as a kid. (Kid was pretty stoked to see teacher wearing the same shoes as him.)

Sometimes you find yourself eating lunch at 10:30 am, because it’s better than waiting til 1pm for your next chance.

Leave a Reply

