Sleepiness vortex

swirling smoke spirals
Incense Vortex: end of a world by Phillippe Teuwen (2009) CC BY-SA 2.0 via Flickr.
https://c2.staticflickr.com/4/3619/3412478911_cd9215af3a_z.jpg

You know how mystics talk about the energy vortices of Sedona, AZ? (Or maybe you find that unlikely.)

Well, I propose there is a Sleepiness Vortex in my house that activates at around 2pm on days 1)when I am home and 2)could be doing useful things but 3)don’t have an actual plan in place for accomplishing these useful things.

I was sucked into the Vortex after reading the delightfully illustrated Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry Farmer. This time, I could not stave it off with coffee, nor could I manage to extricate myself with exercise or other gainful activity. No, reader, the nap pulled me down into its warm embrace and I could not make myself resist.

Consequently, when I awoke an hour later, I was extremely disoriented and crabby. A state which continued for several hours. Normally, I see naps as healing and enjoyable interludes, providing rejuvenation when I’m just too tired to keep going. However, maybe unnecessary naps in the Sleepiness Vortex are more disruptive than nourishing. This will require further study.

Other potential Vortexes (Vortices?) that I have encountered:

  • The Oracle, Arizona “Dude” Vortex (causes affected individuals to insert the word “dude” as a term of exclamation and appreciation, as well as a pronoun/pet name, into every day conversation.)
  • The Falls Village, CT  “Eat More Kale” Vortex (causes affected individuals to want to eat more kale, wear “Eat More Kale” t-shirts and name their pets after various members of the brassica family.
  • The Keurig Coffee Maker Vortex (individual units generate a local field that inspires humans in its vicinity to make continuous cups of beverages with the ubiquitous pods.)
Leave a Reply

