From Fairfield to Falls Village: A CT Odyssey

The most direct way via train to Isabella Freedman Jewish Retreat Center in Falls Village, CT from Fairfield, CT is through New York City.

On Tuesday morning, I called a cab to pick me up from my sister’s house in Fairfield to take me to the Fairfield Metro North Station at 12:45pm. “Sure, no problem,” the dispatcher said.
***
It was 5 minutes after my reservation, I called the dispatcher back. “He’s on his way.” the dispatcher said.

It was 15 minutes after my reservation. I missed the first train I could take. I called back. “He’s on his way.” The dispatcher said brusquely, and hung up.

It was 30 minutes after my reservation. I was pondering whether I should call another cab company or even walk the 2 miles to the train station. I called the original cab company back. “I’m on Meadowbrook Drive. I’ve been waiting for 30 minutes. Is the cab driver lost?”
“He’s on his way.”

It was 45 minutes after my reservation. I called them back. “I’m on Meadowbrook Drive. M-E-A-D-O-W-B-R-O-O-K.”
“Oh wait a second…” the dispatcher paused. The hold music came on. Then, “The cab is on MIDDLEbrook. He’s around the corner.”

Finally, 50 minutes after my original reservation time, a yellow taxi pulls into the driveway. The driver gives me a nonchalant shrug. “Fairfield Metro North Station?” I ask. He nods and loads my suitcase into the trunk.

When we get to the station:

Blue Dino and Red Ukulele at train station
Fairfield Metro North Station by Protopian Pickle Jar (2015)

Blue dinosaur and Red Flea the Ukulele wait for the 2:00pm train from Fairfield to Grand Central at the Fairfield Metro North Station. Since we’re on the New Haven Metro North line, we’ll have to go to Grand Central Terminal to switch over to the Harlem Line. Our goal: Wassaic Metro North station, the northernmost stop on the Harlem line, 25 minutes from Isabella Freedman.

We make it to Grand Central, a hub of frenetic activity:

blue dinosaur with red ukulele
Busking at Grand Central by Protopian Pickle Jar (2015)

Blue Dinosaur and Red Flea attempt to busk in the dining concourse of Grand Central Terminal. Commuters offer them quarters to stop.

We hang out for about an hour, and get on the 4:35 train to Wassaic, NY. Wassaic station is located near Amenia, NY, just over the state line from Sharon, CT. We’re going to the end of the line.

Finally, we’ve made it to Wassaic:

Blue Dino and Red Ukulele cuddling
Cuddling at Wassaic Metro North Station by Protopian Pickle Jar (2015)

Blue Dinosaur and Red Flea cuddle on the station bench as we wait for our ride to Isabella Freedman.

Tangents for this post:
Metro-North Railroad

Leave a Reply

